Breaking News

Inconclusive: Osun CRPP Rejects Re-run, Asks INEC To Declare Adeleke Winner

The conference of registered political parties Osun State chapter as denounce the decision of INEC to declare the Governorship election in Osun state inconclusive and failure to announce Senator Adeleke as the winner of the election.

This is contained in a press conference organised by the Political Parties in Osun, which read

"We the conference of registered political parties Osun State chapter, aa participant in Osun State gubernatorial election held on Saturday 22 September, 2018 States as follows:
We denounce the decision of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to declare the Governorship election inconclusive and its failure to announce Senator Ademola Adeleke as the winner of the election having scored majority of the lawful votes thereby satisfying the provisions of the 1999 constitution as amended and extant laws of the land. The constitution states inter-alia:

Under Section 69 of the Electoral Act 2010 (2015 as amended) provides as follows:
In an election to the office of President or Governor whether or not contested and in any contested election to any other elective office, the result shall be ascertain by counting the votes cast for each candidate and subject to the provision of Sections 133, 134 and 179 of the constitution, the candidate that received the highest number of vote shall be declare elected by the appropriate Returning Officer.

Section 179 (2) provide thus:
A candidate for an election for a Governor of a State shall be deemed to have been duly elected where there being two or more candidates (a) he has the highest number of votes cast at the election and
(b) He has not less than one quarter of all the votes cast in each of at least two thirds of all the local government areas in the State.

In the election for the office of Governor held on 22 September 2018, in Osun State 48 candidates contested for the position of Governor.
The two leading candidate are, Senator Ademola Adeleke and Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola. Adeleke has more than one quarter of all the votes cast in each of more than two third of all the local government areas in the state and won with 353 majority votes as announced by INEC. The second candidate Alhaji Adegboyega Oyetola of APC also met the first requirement but did not have the majority vote.
In essence, the discretionary power of the Returning Officer exercised under Section 68 of the Electoral Act is totally uncalled for.

In view of all the above, we see this action as travesty of justice and a rape of our electoral process where the bar is lowered when some favored people are concerned and the same bar is raised when others are affected. We strongly believe that what is sauce for the goose, should be sauce for the gander.
It is not too late for INEC to do the needful by correcting this glaring anomaly. If we, as a people, are desirous of building democracy and make it safe in this clime, we should be mindful of the fact that members of the International community were on ground to observe last Saturdays election. We should not be seen as condoning situations that will make us a laughing stock before the International community.

We call on INEC, without further delay, to revert itself in the interest of the sustenance of democracy in our country by declaring Senator Ademola  Adeleke as the winner of the gubernatorial election held on Saturday 22 September, 2018 in line with the provisions of our constitution.

Political parties under CRPP are:

Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN)
Freedom & Justice Party (FJP)
Young Progressive Party (YPP)
Nigeria Element Progressive Party (NEPP)
Democratic Alternative (DA)
United Peoples Party (UPP)
Nigeria Peoples Congress (NPC)
Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC)
Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)
Action Alliance (AA)
National Democratic Liberty Party(NDLP)
New Progressive Movement (NPM)
National Action Council (NAC)
Alliance For New Nigeria (ANN)
Alliance for Democracy (AD)
Peoples alliance for national development and liberty (PANDEL)
All Grassroots Alliance (AGA)
Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN)
Social Democratic Party

Signed by

Adekunle Rufai Omo-Aje
Chairman CRPP

No comments